Parcours des Mondes 2018

 

 

For its 17th edition held from 11 to 16 September 2018, Parcours des Mondes invited the American collector Adam Lindemann as its Honorary President. A keen collector of tribal, African and Asian art, as well as contemporary art, in 2016 he organised an exhibition entitled ‘Fétiche’ at his New York gallery Venus Over Manhattan. Going by the number, quality and diversity of its participants, Parcours des Mondes is the leading art fair for international and primitive arts.

Every year in the Beaux-arts area of Saint-Germain-des-Prés in Paris since 2002, the fair gathers around sixty French and foreign gallery owners – some of the latter in residence with their Parisian representatives – specialising in African, Asian, Oceanian and American arts. This exceptional concentration of artworks and experts takes on the form of an open-door and open-air art fair, in which visitors are free to stroll through the picturesque streets of this historic neighbourhood transformed into a showcase of primitive arts. Each gallery offers an intimate, customised presentation of undiscovered African or Oceanian masterpieces, more accessible ethnographic pieces, and works particularly sought after by collectors. This year, Adam Lindemann’s presidency coincided with the general ambiance of Parcours des Mondes, where the juxtaposition of past and present African, Asian and tribal art classifications set the tone for the desire to stimulate the eyes and to widen perspectives in the arts.

The success of this outdoor art fair, unanimously acclaimed by the press, has been enjoying greater footfall from more internationally diverse visitors, and was made possible thanks to a combination of complementary elements: the healthy primitive arts market, enthusiasts’ increased interest for artworks from afar, the efforts that dealers have undertaken to offer high-quality themed exhibitions, a parallel cultural programme and the special care that the organisers have taken to ensure the quality and expertise of exhibits. With the retrospective exhibition ‘Pigalle 1930, Retour sur une exposition mythique’, the programme for this year and the many large-scale themed exhibitions, Parcours des Mondes 2018 was as aesthetic as it was multicultural.

 

Download the 2018 closing report

Download the 2018 press kit

More information: www.parcours-des-mondes.com

Parcours des mondes 2018

 

 

Pour sa XVIIe édition, qui s’est déroulée du 11 au 16 septembre 2018, le Parcours des mondes a invité en Président d’honneur le collectionneur américain Adam Lindemann. Collectionneur féru d’art tribal, d’Afrique et d’Asie, mais aussi d’art contemporain, il organisa en 2016 une exposition intitulée Fétiche dans sa galerie de New York, Venus Over Manhattan. Parcours des mondes est le plus important salon d’arts premiers international par le nombre, la qualité et la diversité de ses participants.

Depuis 2002, il rassemble chaque année à Paris dans le quartier des Beaux-arts de Saint-Germain-des-Prés une soixantaine de galeristes français et étrangers, alors en résidence chez leurs confrères parisiens, spécialisés dans les arts d’Afrique, d’Asie, d’Océanie et des Amériques. Cette concentration exceptionnelle d’œuvres et d’experts prend la forme d’un salon ouvert en accès libre où les visiteurs peuvent parcourir les rues pittoresques de ce quartier historique, devenu l’écrin des arts premiers. Chaque galerie offre dans une présentation personnalisée et intime des chefs-d’œuvre inconnus d’Afrique ou d’Océanie, des pièces ethnographiques plus abordables et des œuvres recherchées des collectionneurs. Cette année, la présidence d’Adam Lindemann correspondait à l’atmosphère générale du Parcours des mondes où le mélange des typologies d’art africains et asiatiques, tribaux, passés et actuels acta une volonté d’ouvrir les horizons des arts et des regards.

Le succès de ce salon hors-les-murs, salué par une presse unanime et une fréquentation croissante et toujours plus internationale, tient à la conjonction d’éléments complémentaires : la bonne santé du marché des arts premiers, l’engouement croissant des amateurs pour ces arts dits lointains, les efforts engagés par les marchands pour proposer des expositions thématiques de qualité, une programmation culturelle concomitante et la vigilance des organisateurs en matière de qualité et d’expertise des pièces exposées. Avec l’exposition rétrospective « Pigalle 1930. Retour sur une exposition mythique », la programmation de cette année et les nombreuses expositions thématiques d’envergure, le Parcours des mondes en 2018 a été tant esthétique que culturel.

 

Télécharger le Communiqué de bilan

Télécharger le Dossier de presse

www.parcours-des-mondes.com